The ninth multi-role frigate Spartaco Schergat was launched

(To Fincantieri)

The launching ceremony of the frigate took place today at the Riva Trigoso plant of the integrated military naval shipyard Spartacus Schergat, ninth of a series of 10 FREMM units - Multi Mission European Frigates, commissioned to Fincantieri by the Italian Navy as part of the Italian-French international cooperation agreement, with the coordination of OCCAR, the joint organization for European cooperation in matter of armaments. 

Godmother of the launch was Dr. Arianna Somma, granddaughter of the Gold Medal for Military Valor Spartaco Schergat, from whom the ship takes its name.

Present at the event, among others, were the president of the regional council of the Liguria Region, doctor Gianmarco Medusei, the deputy minister of Infrastructure and Transport, the honorable Edoardo Rixi, the deputy chief of staff of the Navy, team admiral Giuseppe Berutti Bergotto, General Joachim Sucker, Director of OCCAR, and the Director of the Naval Armaments Directorate - NAVARM, Chief Inspector Admiral Giuseppe Abbamonte, welcomed by the President of Fincantieri, General Claudio Graziano.

Following the launch, the unit will continue construction activities at the Muggiano shipyard, in La Spezia, and will be delivered in 2025. The Spartaco Schergat ship will be characterized, like the other FREMMs, by high flexibility of use and will have the ability to operate in all tactical situations. She has a length of 144 meters, a width of 19,7 meters and a full load displacement of approximately 6.700 tons. She will be able to reach a speed of over 27 knots with a maximum capacity of approximately 200 people on board.

The FREMM program, which represents the state of the art of Italian and European defense, was born from the need to renew the line of Navy units including the "Lupo" and "Maestrale" classes, built by Fincantieri in the Seventies and Eighties . 

It was delivered in 2012 Carlo Bergamini, in the 2013 Virginio Fasan, in the 2014 Carlo Margottini, in the 2015 Carabiniere, in the 2016 Alpine, in the 2017 Luigi Rizzo, in the 2018 Federico Martinengo and in the 2019 Antonio Marceglia.