NATO allies strengthen training cooperation


On Monday (25 March 2024), twelve NATO allies (Belgium, Czechia, Germany, Greece, Hungary, Italy, Montenegro, North Macedonia, Romania, Spain, Turkey and the United Kingdom) agreed to expand military aviation training across the Alliance through the initiative NATO Flight Training Europe (NFTE). This includes an initial deployment of approximately fifty student pilots to four locations starting this year, the addition of nine new training campuses, as well as the establishment of a dedicated industry advisory body.

The initiative fundamentally aims to change the way Allies train the full range of aircrew, including pilots of jets, helicopters and remotely piloted aircraft systems.

Deputy Secretary General Mircea Geoană said: “Unity doesn't happen spontaneously, it has to be earned. One way to achieve it is to systematically train together and forge relationships of trust in the process. NATO Flight Training Europe is an excellent example of this. This important multinational effort will help us overcome national barriers towards a shared approach in training the next generations of flight crews."

With the latest expansion of the number of training campuses to fourteen locations, NFTE is now enabling training in seven Allied countries. The rapid growth of the program has sparked interest across the Alliance and several Allied countries are expected to join in the first half of 2024. The launch of the first cohort of students means Allied crews will have immediate access to training opportunities 'avant-garde.